Walkington CC Sixes 2013

13 Jul 2013

WCC Emblem 1Order of Play (All teams to play 4 matches)

(Printable version here)

Phase 1: League round-robin

11:00 Gilberdyke v Cherry Burton

11:40 South Cave v Walkington

12:20 Cherry Burton v South Cave

13:00 Gilberdyke v Walkington

13:40 Gilberdyke v South Cave

14:20 Cherry Burton v Walkington

Phase 2: 3rd/4th place play-off & Final between the top two teams

15:00 3rd place v 4th place play-off

15:40 Walkington Juniors Exhibition match

16:20 Final

Tournament rules

The Laws of Cricket apply, except:

  • Games are played between two teams of six players, and each game consisting of a maximum of five six-ball overs bowled by each side.
  • The losing captain at the coin toss shall decide which “end” their innings shall be bowled from, irrespective of the outcome of the coin toss itself. All 10 overs in the match to be bowled from that end.
  • Each member of the fielding side bowls one over, except the wicketkeeper.
  • Wides and no-balls count as two runs and are not re-bowled. (Except for the final ball of the innings)
  • If five wickets fall before 5 overs are completed, the last remaining batsman bats on (with the 5th batsman acting as
  • runner). He always takes strike. The innings is complete when the sixth wicket falls.
  • Batsmen retire not out on reaching 31 runs. The idea being to reach 36 runs by hitting 6 sixes.
  • Tied matches to be decided by a bowl-off: All 6 players to bowl at the stumps alternately from each team. If the number of times the wicket has been his is tied after these 6 deliveries there will be “sudden death” in the same order of bowling.
  • League points: 2 points for a win, 1 point for losing a bowl-off
  • League standings:
    • in the event of two teams on the same number of points, the winner of the game between the two sides will be higher in the league.
    • if three teams end up on 4 points, the league standings will be decided by net run rate.

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This